June 20th, old Stone Church


While walking down the street ,hubby and I ,just to see ,enjoy the beautiful day in Cleveland. We came upon this lovely church,we walked up the steps hoping that the door would be unlocked. No such luck ..so we turned away disappointed,but not for long …as a kind old black man showed us how to enter as a visitor! We sincerely thank him,and entered. I gasped at the beauty that meet my eyes… 

Here is some information on the church…

More  to enjoy..






 


I so wished someone could have played this for me!!


A wonderful old church! So thankful a kind soul showed us a door.

Deb

9 thoughts on “June 20th, old Stone Church

  1. Sartenada

    Wow. Gorgeous photos! I love to shoot photos about churches. My photography life, I started by photographing churches and all the things which inside them. In Finland on our countryside, we have wooden churches and generally, their bell towers are separated from churches. Thank you for tis post.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Deb Post author

      Thank you!…Isn’t so fun to learn from others around the world in a blog the differences and likeness of ones country,more personal than a history book. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. blosslyn

    Thank you for adding the the little leaflet, love the fact that Abraham Lincoln’s funeral cortege stopped near the church. Quite an impressive building, with some lovely windows and roof beams. So lucky that the gentleman was there to show you the way in, its so annoying when our churches are locked, I know why, but its a shame that others spoil it for us all, but this time you were lucky 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Deb Post author

      It is hard for me to understand why a person would want to ruin or steal church’s treasures, such a shame. I found the leaflet interesting,knew that there was no way I would remember , snap a picture, easy solution for a short memory.😊

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. blosslyn

        Thats quite good idea taking a photo of the leaflet, sometimes there is only one left and I think its a shame to take the last one, so that no one else can have a read 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Sheryl

    The church is beautiful, and the woodwork is amazing. I don’t think that I’ve ever been to downtown Cleveland. This series of posts makes me want to visit it someday.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

